BACK
Atleten

Atleten

Laura Bal

Triathlon

How long have you been competing? 
My first triathlon was in 2014. I was completely surprised how much I enjoyed my first triathlon. This is how my love for triathlon started. However, my cycling experience already started when I was 8 years old. 

Where do you call home? 
Home is where the bike is. (and of course my parents, boyfriend and friends)

Favorite event or place to practice? 
My favorite place to practice is in the polder. I love the green nature. Running or cycling between the animals and lovely nature makes me happy. Another important aspect for me is training with other people who are at least as enthusiastic as I am such as my dad, boyfriend or triathlon friends.

What do you like best about your sport? 
I love the variation in my sport. It never gets boring. It is not just swimming, cycling or running. It is even more, it is about core stability, race tactic, dividing the power. All these aspects are important to become a good (tri)athlete.

What is the strangest thing that has happened to you while doing your sport? 
Many surprising/strange things happen to me during my daily life. People say that it could be because I am clumsy.. Fall over my bike while when standing still. My wheel came loose during my training (nothing bad happened). 
 

Do you have a claim to fame (fittest, fastest, funniest, smelliest, etc.)? 
The girl who barely raise her feet while running.  
 

Do you promote an annual event or are you involved in a charitable cause? 
There is no specific event it specifically promote. I love events with many supporters and strong athletes, the atmosphere is quite important during an event. 
 

Any notable recent results? 
I am qualified for the Olympic Distance World Championships Age Groupers 2017 in Rotterdam.
Besides that, I did actually finished my season when I decided to participate the Run Bike Run in Spijkenisse. There were so many people to support me which gave me a strong feeling. I divided my power and that rewarded a 2nd place by the ladies.
 

Anything else we should know about you or your sport? 
I love dogs, they are amazing.  
I study international hotel management in Breda. I hope to finish my study the summer of 2018. When I am finished I would love spend more time to train. And I hope to find a job where I can combine my love for sport & hospitality.